Introduction - Derek

Hi,
My name is Derek and I am rather new to the world of CPAP therapy.
I snored very loudly for years and years. As a motorcyclist who attended rallies I became quite well known as the person next whom it was unwise to put ones tent. As I learned over time, weight, smoking and alcohol were not helpful to my snoring. Weight is fairly easy for me control, not so easy is the smoking and I do love wine.
Over time, my wife and others noted that I often stopped breathing for significant lengths of time after which there was a convulsive snort followed by a short period of easy breathing, then loud snoring and breathing cessation.
This went on for about 12 years. Then, the side effects of incredible tiredness during the day, feeling tired, falling asleep in almost any situation started.
I lived with this for about a year and then following a little research I got quite frightened. My doctor is great. She listened to my story and immediately set me up for a preliminary occimetry test. The first try was a failure as my thrashing around at night tore off the finger reader about five minutes after falling asleep. I did again but this time duct taped the little beggar on.
The results were interpreted as acute apnea. So, off I go to a respirologist.
He also was great. His feeling was that the next step would normally be an overnight sleep test, but that the occimetry results were so acute that we should jump immediately to therapy.
Where I live they give you a list of 5 or 6 technical therapists who are the people who recommend a particular type of machine/mask etc. and with advice from the therapist send you off to play.
Each therapist seems to deal with a particular kind of machine. I wasn’t too worried about that part because I figured market forces would push the bad ones out of business.