Newborn w/ HD questions -

Hello everyone. I’m new here. I’m a 35 year old new dad. My son has HD and is in the 10% that has total colon HD. Last Thursday he had his appendix removed and a colastomy bag added.

I spoke to his doctor today and he told me in 5 or 6 months they will do the second surgury and my son will most likely lose all his “left intestines” I assume he means large intestines thats what my sons mother told me. I’m sorry this is all over whelming and Im not a doctor and don’t understand everything the doctor says.

He explained that my son has a good chance of survival and he hopes that with the next surgury he will be able to fix my son so that he can go to the bathroom normally but he might have to have a bag for the rest of his life.

Can someone help explain this to me. Im so scared and I dont want to lose my baby.

I was born with HD but it wasn’t nearly as bad as my son has it. I’m fine with no problems. I just feel so guilty that he got this from me and I feel so helpless.

Hi,

I have had HD for 37 years and have to give myself enemas to stay regular.
As I get older it is a little harder to manage. It just takes so much time and
effort to do. I am trying now to get surgery, and I am 55 years old. I also
managed my diet for years, and used stool softeners, and laxatives. However,
it seems the bowel cooperates less as I get older. I wish you and your son
well. I understand that surgery is the best cure. Paulette

************************************** See what’s new at http://www.aol.com

Good day Sir,

I am 42 years old dad of 12 years of boy. My boy suffered an intestine
perforation just after birth, 2 times operated but biopsy results were fine
and left as is.
But at the age 5, he had a hard blockage and biopsy, barium tests and some
more tests were repeated and diagnosed as HD (last 3 inches of intestine)
but against all practices, his doctor decided not to remove this part
because he was doing well during that 5 years period.