Addison's Disease

I have been taking Predisone for 3 weeks for Addison’s Disease and have gained 15 lbs. I am freaking out due to the fact that I have to be on this medication for life.

Any tips out there on how to stop gaining weight. I am starving all the time. I hate this medicine.

Dear Runk,
Why not ask your doctor if you can switch to hydrocortisone. Hydrocortisone is a natural adrenal hormone that chemically matches human hormone. It has been around a long time and is inexpensive. It’s drawback in comparison to Prednisone is that it has to be taken more frequently, up to 3 times a day.

It’s benifits are that it is natural and I think you would not put on weight with it if it is properly adjusted. I have never put on any weight from it. Prednisone is a synthetic hormone that does not chemically match human hormone and therefore it is more likely to have side effects and not work the same in the body as the real thing.

I have been using hydrocortisone for at least 4 years now and have not had any problems with it. I carry it with me everywhere, because if I have stress or have to do extra activities, I might need a few mg more.

Tish

Runk: How much prednisone? It sounds like you are taking too much. The latest thinking on pred is to NOT take more than 5 mgs/day. More than 5 and side effects -unusual weight gain just being one of them- start to show up. Not all endos are up to date in fact I dare say that quite a few endos are totally out to lunch when it comes to skillfully treating Addison’s.
As an editorial personal opinion: Pred in horrible stuff. HC is far superior. I take HC 6 times/day in small doses and my disease is basically invisible to me.

Beyond this small and under-populated group I suggest Hopeoasis.org and Addisons_disease@yahoogroups.