Alcoholism

Hi I am a 39 year old woman whose partner is an alcoholic who has now lost his business and has not worked for a year. He has two kids from his marriage whom he sees once a week. I am a professional divorced woman who owns her own home and would describe myself as attractive, intelligent, from a stable and loving family background and reasonably well adjusted! I have read many books on alcoholism and really would like to chat with sufferers of this disease to learn more. I have been with my partner several years. He now admits he has a problem which is progress in itself but is dragging his heels over rehab. He was sober for a few months after being hospitalised following withdrawal seizures but is back on the booze big time! He drinks most days all days, looks awaful and when with me at the weekends can be sober for a day and a half. At the moment my mental and physical health is suffering because I am so worried about him. At this rate he will be dead in a short time and it seems there is nothing I can do. He is an only child and his parents have all but washed their hands of him. They like myself are at the end of their rope. I am feeling very down, isolated, lonely and finding it difficult to concentrate at work. I don’t know what to do for the best and although I love him to bits I know that my only option may be to leave him although this will break my heart. If anyone has some advice it would be greatly appreciated.

I agree with Jimmy. Al-Anon has MANY people who have lived through what you are going through. If you can talk to someone else about what you are going through, especially one who has been through the same thing, it may be easier for you to live out each day.