Any parents in my area?

H! My name is Penny and I’m looking to find a support group or just someone to talk to, who is located near me. I am located in Memphis, Indiana (USA) and I’ve looked on line and the nearest support group is in Ohio. (If I looked in the right place?). My husband and I are both feeling overwhelmed and “lost”. Our 35 month old was just diagnosed with FXS. If anyone could help… it would be greatly appreciated. Thanks, PennyC

Hi, Penny.

I am VERY new to this online support thing. I found out about 8 months ago that both my 7 1/2 yr old son and 2 yr. old daughter have Fragile X Syndrome. I am in Utah though and read your letters and I worried maybe you have not received support yet. We have a great base here in Utah and I am actually diving right in to learning more.

I know great place that you can look for information.

Contact Louise Gane at the M.I.N.D. Institute at UC Davis in Sacramento, California. They do research on Fragile X Syndrome there.

Also, you can find out everything you need to know at www.fragilex.org

Hang in there. Your son will be OK. He will be happy and he will make you happy.

Let me know if I can help.

designer

Hello everyone!

Sorry you have to get this email but we’re moving and you know how organized AT&T is, right? We’ll be back online September 20th. Take care, God bless and hugs to all of you…

The Nichols’ Clan.

Hi Penny! I just joined today because I am very frustrated in not finding any support in INDIANA! I live in Evansville, IN, and have yet to find any support groups. Really, no one here seems to have ever heard of Fragile X. I have a 5 1/2 year old son, and he was just diagnosed with FX about 2 months ago. You are lucky to get a diagnosis so early! (Compared to mine.) Do you have a boy or girl? I am more than willing to talk; I am feeling pretty overwhelmed myself.
Jessica