Chronic fatique syndrome

I think I have this CFS and I’m worried that it wont go away. Lately going to work is so very hard and I think I’m going to quite this job, although I’ll need to find another one thats less stressfull. I’m a nurse go figure . I have lots of stressers in my life and I feel so overwhelmed all the time. If anyone has any advice about this subject please fill me in. CL

Hi sick and tired. I’m new to this community, but not to CFS. I’d go to a doctor as soon as you can. There are many treatable causes of fatique/depression and every one of them should be checked for before a CSF diagnosis is given. CFS is still somewhat a diagnosis of exclusion, especially in the early phase.

I had a huge work-up in '95/ '96 and they found a low B12, which can cause it’s own similiar harm. It was the last thing they tested after nine months, and I take B12 shots each month. There may be other aspects of your general health that can be optimized, so keep an open mind.

In the meantime, you recognize yourself as sick, and I think you should treat yourself as sick. I mean you should do all the things you yourself would advise a sick person to do.
Eat the healthiest diet you can, with fresh fruits and vegetables, avoiding refined sugar and carbohydrates. Protect your down time–save your energy, and rest more–by bowing out of volunteer activites you don’t really enjoy, and delegating as many chores as you can. Get to bed on time like your life depended on it.

These are little things everybody ought to do to take care of themselves, but women especially tend to give more care to others than themselves.