General qus about DI - pls help

I’m searching for more info about my son’s condition of DI. I have not found any local support groups (Vic, Australia) and have only found limited info on the internet. What I’m really looking for is PEOPLE who have this condition and live with it on a daily basis. Can you help??

Can you answer any of these qus, or give me some advice on what works best for you? I’m new to i/net support/chat grps and am still learning to navigate my way around, so I haven’t yet discovered all there is on this site.

• Do you need more DDAVP when awake and active or at night?
  • If you have a cold or general sickness, do you need to increase yr dose of DDAVP, or just drink more to compensate?
  • Does anyone calculate urine output for babies? & if so over what time frame? Eg. 1, 2 or 4 hrs Or do you not calculate?
  • If using nasal spray, what if you sneeze immed. after dose??
  • What makes you feel better when yr output rate increases significantly? Do you readminister DDAVP or just drink like a fish?
  • Do you know of any long term side effects of DDAVP?
  • Do you need more medication in the heat/humidiity? How do you cope on hot days?

I know this is a number of qus (I’ve got plenty more), but I’m just trying to find out more about this condition.

I would love to hear some responses, even if you don’t have children with DI, but can give me some guidance if you are living with the ‘curse of thirst’. Any help appreciated

Thanks heaps,
Shell5