Legg-Calve-Perthes Disease Member Introductions

Please take a moment to introduce yourself to the community. Everyone here has something to share about Legg-Calve-Perthes Disease. For the discussion boards, we ask that you keep your full name and location private.

I had legg perthes as a kid, wore a brace for about 2 years.

I’m a medical researcher part time and owner of the information-perthes group on yahoo. I also had perthes as a child in both hips. Treated with confinment in petrie cast for 8 months and a toronto brace for 4 months. I’m constantly seeking new info for my group and families that seek information.

Hi

I had perthes as a child and now have two children, both of whom have perthes.

I believe that the best way to get through this is to share experiences and ideas and nobody understands what you are going through better, than someone who has ‘been there, done that’!

Donna - NZ

I have a seven year old son who have recently been diagnosed with Perthes disease, would welcome any advice from parents

My son was diagnosed at age 7. My father, aunts, uncles, cousins, and even myself have had total hip replacements due to this condition. I pray for the day a cure or at least better treatment options become available for this awful disease.

I had perthes disease as a child and I just found out that my daughter has it too!

I had several doctors tell me that this is not genetic. That was my main concern when I did have my girls, I didn’t want them to go through what I had went through, and now my Chloe will. I feel terrible that she has to go through this. Any help would be appreiciated. Thank you

Hi. My name is Tanya and I have an 11 year old with this condition. I’m always interested in learning more and meeting others whose children have Perthes