Lichen Sclerosis

How are others coping with this condition? I have been fighting this for three years and am beginning to have doubts about ever getting some long lasting relief. Anyone care to share any of their success stories with me? Would greatly be appreciated.

What treatments have you been using so far? Are you carrying them out correctly or missing doses? This is long term, but you need to treat yourself as the most important thing in the world to cope with it!!

I have been dealing with it for years also, but only diagnosed 1 1/2 years ago. I have used Clobetasol with decent results, I think the estrogen cream aggravated my fibroids, and I am currently getting relief with emu oil, bought at my local health foods store. I also used to use topical Benadryl to ease itching and swelling, and added Cetaphil as a moisturizer.

oahulady;
I was diagnosed with L.S. in 2004 after being treated for yeast infections for about a year. I finally requested a biopsy because I knew I had something worse than a yeast infection. I have used Clobetasol and many other creams and ointments over the years. I phoned Grandpa’s Pharmacy, a compounding pharmacy, in Placerville CA. I was desparate-nothing was helping. Grandpa Bill was quite familiar wth the disease and had compounded a pill consisting of all natural ingredients with no fillers. Also told me to take B-12, 1000mg and Alpha Lopic Acid, 250mg. Since the L.S. was so very bad, he told me it might take three to six months before I would really get relief. It did take six months. I also use the Clobetasol 3x a week for no more than two weeks at a time.

I also have two younger sisters with the same problems (yeast infections). They live in the midwest and finally went to the Mayo Clinic doctors and requested a biopsy and sure enough they also have L.S. The doctor was very surprised to learn that three women in one family have L.S. We are not young women, I am 81, one sister 79 and the other 75.