Menkes Home Care

I am a pediatric home health nurse who will soon be caring for a client with Menkes Disease. Although I know the basics about the illness, I would like to know more.

I believe the more information a health care giver has, the better care he/she is able to deliver. And I really want to give the best care to this boy and his family.

If anyone can offer insights or advice, I would appreciate it.

Thank you so much for your reply.

As I mentioned in my post, I am a pediatric home care nurse. I work in Phoenix and its surrounding cities in Arizona.

Unfortunately, I am unable to relay personal health information about clients for whom I care, (Federal HIPAA law); however, if you have general questions about what I’ve seen in Menke’s, I will be happy to answer them.

One thing in which I was interested is how to support the family, what they may need from me besides offering care with kindness, gentleness, and warmth for their child.
Also, any ways to soothe the child when in distress, (besides the presence and voices of family members,) would be helpful. For example, does soft music work, gentle massage of skin, reading, efflurage, or are these things too stimulating?

Again, thank you for your reply. And as I said, I can answer general questions about what I observed with this disease, but none about my client. I look forward to hearing from you.

Terri

Hi Terri

Thanks for the feedback.

Our son Stephen is 15 months now, he was diagnosed at 6 months with Menkes.
He has never really developed, is very floppy, and is unable to sit, keep
his head up, or even to roll over. His hearing is very good, so he can
associate voice with a person, but we doubt that he is able to see very
much, maybe only movement. He has developed two small bottom teeth and we
think that he is getting a tooth in his upper gums. Stephen has seizure
that present in the form of “jerks” as we call them. His arms move up