School Issues

Would like some disuccsion on IEP’s and school for children with cp. My d is in a multi disabled class. What math programs have worked with your children? She is learning touchmath right now.

mathpad

-----Original Message-----
From: emilymom cerebral-palsy-cpt8807@lists.careplace.com
To: jazzyboy87@aol.com
Sent: Sat, 26 Apr 2008 10:37 am
Subject: [cerebral-palsy] School Issues

Thanks Mike, I will look into mathpad…any other suggestions?

Hello,

I haven’t contributed much to this site, up to this point, and I apologize for that.

To give you some perspective on where I’m coming from, in relation to your question, I have CP and I’m also a special education teacher. I currently teach in a “typical” school environment; I have previously taught in a MD classroom.

It is difficult to answer your question, because I can’t really recommend any methods of teaching math without knowing your child. It sounds like you are unhappy with your child’s progress in math, or you are unhappy with how your child is being taught math. Touch math has worked very well for most of my students. If your child can use manipulatives, like counting bears, I have had success in using those. The only honest answer is, “Whatever works”. I know that isn’t a good answer.

As far as IEP issuses, I know what is most frustrating for me, and I’m sure for you also, is that administrators, teachers (yes, even teachers), and the President of the United States, tend to forget that IEP stands for INDIVIDUALIZED Education Plan. We try to fit everyone into to same “box”. No Child Left Behind has been good in some ways, as far as setting standards for what is taught in special education classrooms, but it has largely been a failure because it doesn’t allow for differences among students. Ok, enough of my soapbox.