Suggestions?

I just signed up in this group today because I have just come to an understanding of what the difference of Type I and II are. I was diagnosed in March after having a three organ transplant and we realized that the high blood sugars were not due to the Prednisone that I was on (part of it was but even when that med was decreased the numbers were still high). So, I am fairly new to Diabetes and would like any suggestions about what foods are really good to eat and I want opinions about the pump because I hate continuosly sticking myself with needles. As for the food…give me any suggestions that you have. I’m a weird case because I have to eat a lot because I can’t gain weight (I also have Cystic Fibrosis) but I have to watch what I eat. Please help!!!

I have ordered a book by Dr. Bernstein on diabetes,which I am told is the
best book by far (I have several others yet unread!!!) ---- cost varies – I got
it from www.alibris.com for $7 (instead of 27+ other sellers!!!) I thinkif
you review the book (online) you may find it has some answers you need. The
other idea I can suggest is that you watch yourself closely — what you eat,
what it does to your glucose, how soon it peaks after you eat. How soon it drops,
HOW LOW,and how long does it stay steady. I take Lantus at 10 pm — its
effect peaks in an hour, and then remains the same for 24 hrs. I have discontinued
the Novolog (suggested 3 times a day after each meal) because it lowered me
unnecessarilytoo low. A doctor casually suggested that maybe I could go on
Lantus only — and so I did. Now I eat very few carbs, know that I will go too
high in about an hour or so (vision gets blurry, I feel shaky), but if I walk
for 30 min, it comes down significantly. ( I try to keep my weight as-is ---- so
I don;t know if the exercise to conrol glucose would work for you). Get a
doctor who listens to YOU, and your suggestions — nobody knows you as well as
yourself!
All the best!
Em

Get a sneak peek of the all-new AOL at