What are other names for gluten to watch for in ingrediant


#1

What are other names for gluten to watch for in ingrediant lists?


#2

wheat is obvious, also rye and barley have the gluten "protine" as well. no one 100% sure of oats though. i can tell u i have a very high sensitivity for gluten (how high?, put it this way i ended up getting my own toaster oven) and ive had irish oats on occation and been fine, irish oats arn't "rolled"so its just oats no flour, but i still wouldn't go 2 crazy w/ it.

  also watch for modified food starch, thats a wheat made product. they may also list it as food starch- modified or some scrambled mess.

**modified corn starch is ok.

  then theres carmel color (thats a barley product) its not accually carmel, most carmels are fine."carmel color is just a coloring, its in colas(coke or pepsi) rootbeer and other dark sodas and other things colored to be dark(like "fake" pancake syrups) so use 100% maple syrup.

  malt products are made from barley as well. so malt, malt flavoring, and malt syrup are all bad.(makes me mad cuz i loved malted milk duds) if you are new to the gluten free diet ill tell you the number one rule to fallow that i learned the hard way.-- ****check every thing!!! food drink candy gum medicine, everything!!