Esophageal Cancer Member Introductions

Please take a moment to introduce yourself to the community. Everyone here has something to share about Esophageal Cancer. For the discussion boards, we ask that you keep your full name and location private.

I was diagnosed with a hiatal hernia 25 years ago. It upgraded to Barrets Esophagus 15 years ago. It upgraded to dysplasia 3 years ago. It upgraded to esophageal cancer 32 months ago. I had an esophagectomy 30 months ago. One year ago my thoracic surgeon told me I have a 99 percent probability of a complete cure.

Yesterday, my radiation oncologist told me my Prostate Cancer is completely cured after 9 years of treatment.

I will continue to do followup appointments for both because in my mind neither will ever be completely gone.

I gained some experience with treatment options and recovery from esophageal cancer. Although I have little knowledge about advanced stages, I suffered through the aftereffects of the esophagectomy and may be able to offer some insight for those who are about to enter this part of life.

My husband has esophogeal cancer and had it removed last March 2006 then underwent 6 months of chemo. So far he has remained clear on scans and scopes. His father died of esophogeal cancer, so I am scared to death this will return.